This page has been robot translated, sorry for typos if any. Original content here.

Scientists have finally unraveled the riddle of weight gain after quitting smoking

Почему вес после курения

Smoking is pyrolytic inhalation (inhalation of smoke) of preparations, mainly of vegetable origin, smoldering in the flow of inhaled air, in order to saturate the organism with the active substances contained in them by sublimation and subsequent absorption in the lungs and respiratory tract. As a rule, it is used for the use of smoking mixtures possessing narcotic properties ( tobacco, hashish, marijuana, opium, crack, etc. ) due to the rapid intake of psychoactive substances in the brain. Also, smoking or incense means burning or vaporizing incense and aromatic substances used in religious rituals, in aromatherapy and for air aromatization.

For countries and territories of the world that provide relevant information to WHO, the prevalence of tobacco smoking among adults varies from 4% in Libya to 54% in Nauru. The top ten countries with the most widespread smoking of tobacco include, in addition to Nauru, Guinea, Namibia, Kenya, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Mongolia, Yemen, Sao Tome and Principe, Turkey, Romania. Russia in this series of 153 countries ranks 33rd (37% of adults smoke). However, in spite of the fact that, for example, the United States ranks 98th in this series (24%), cigarette consumption here is on average higher per capita than in many countries with a higher prevalence of smoking among the adult population. If in the USA about 6 cigarettes per capita are consumed daily (that is, including children and all non-smokers), then in Russia it is less than 5. And the highest level of per capita cigarette consumption in Greece is almost 12 per person per day. According to the latest WHO data, Turkmenistan is the country with the lowest percentage of smokers in the world.

Scientists from the Institute of Life Sciences at the University of Michigan conducted a study in which they found that the relationship between stopping smoking and weight gain can explain the discovery of a new type of fat cell - beige fat .

During the scientific experiment, experts examined beige fat and found that it contains CHRNA2, a protein that is encoded by the gene of the same name, writes the Independent. In white fat, such a protein encoded by a gene was not detected, scientists noted.

CHRNA2 is also associated with the level of nicotine dependence in the brain. Thus, this relationship can explain the appearance of excess weight after a complete cessation of smoking, to get rid of which is quite difficult for a long time.

"We will continue to investigate beige fat and hope that this will help us find answers to those questions that previously were not explainable," the author of the study, Professor Jun Wu summarized.

Via glavnoe.ua

Ученые, наконец, разгадали загадку набора веса после отказа от курения

Почему вес после курения

Курение — пиролитическая ингаляция (вдыхание дыма) препаратов, преимущественно растительного происхождения, тлеющих в потоке вдыхаемого воздуха, с целью насыщения организма содержащимися в них активными веществами путём их возгонки и последующего всасывания в лёгких и дыхательных путях. Как правило, применяется для употребления курительных смесей, обладающих наркотическими свойствами (табак, гашиш, марихуана, опиум, крэк и т. п.) благодаря быстрому поступлению насыщенной психоактивными веществами крови в головной мозг.Также словом курение или воскурение обозначают сожжение или испарение благовоний и ароматических веществ, применяемое в религиозных ритуалах, в ароматерапии и для ароматизации воздуха.

По странам и территориям мира, представляющим соответствующие сведения в ВОЗ, распространённость курения табака среди взрослого населения варьируется от 4 % в Ливии до 54 % в Науру. В первую десятку стран, в которых наиболее широко распространено курение табака, входят, помимо Науру, Гвинея, Намибия, Кения, Босния и Герцеговина, Монголия, Йемен, Сан-Томе и Принсипи, Турция, Румыния. Россия в этом ряду из 153 стран занимает 33-е место (37 % курящих среди взрослого населения). Однако, несмотря на то, что, например, США в этом ряду стоят на 98-м месте (24 %), потребление сигарет здесь в среднем на душу населения выше, чем во многих странах мира с более высокой распространённостью курения среди взрослого населения. Если в США ежедневно потребляется в среднем около 6 сигарет на душу населения (то есть включая детей и всех некурящих), то в России — менее 5. А наиболее высок уровень душевого потребления сигарет в Греции — почти 12 штук в день на человека. По последним данным ВОЗ, страной с наименьшим процентом курильщиков в мире является Туркменистан.

Ученые из Института наук о жизни Мичиганского университета провели исследование, в ходе которого выяснили, что связь между прекращением курения и увеличением веса может объяснить открытие нового типа жировой клетки - бежевого жира.

Во время научного эксперимента специалисты исследовали бежевый жир и выяснили, что он содержит CHRNA2 – белок, который кодируется одноименным геном, пишет Independent. В белом жире подобный кодированный геном белок обнаружен не был, отметили ученые.

CHRNA2 также связывают с уровнем никотиновой зависимости в головном мозге. Таким образом, эта связь может объяснять появление лишнего веса после полного отказа от курения, избавиться от которого довольно сложно в течение длительного времени.

«Мы продолжим исследовать бежевый жир и надеемся, что это поможет нам найти ответы на те вопросы, которые ранее были не объяснимы», - подытожил автор исследования, профессор Джун Ву.

Via glavnoe.ua