This page has been robot translated, sorry for typos if any. Original content here.

Carotene, or provitamin A

Carotene, or provitamin A, is a yellow pigment found in plant foods. It is three times weaker than vitamin A, unstable, is destroyed by the action of oxygen, sunlight and high temperature. Carotene and vitamin A are deposited in the body. The accumulated excess of these vitamins can persist for more than a year, so it is advisable to maximize the use of plants containing carotene in the summer-autumn period. The amount of carotene in plants directly depends on the degree of leafiness and the content of chlorophyll in the leaves. Plants with a more intense green color, having a large leaf surface, are richer in chlorophyll. In the leaves of plants with yellow, red, orange fruits and root crops, there is a large amount of carotene.

Carotene of green plants is more active than carotene of yellow and orange vegetables and fruits. A high content of carotene is noted in the roots of carrots of red-orange, red, fruits of red tomatoes, sea buckthorn, in peaches, red pepper, rosehip, pumpkin (pulp), sea buckthorn and palm oil, greens - parsley, spinach, lettuce, celery, sorrel, sour, chicory, peppermint, dandelion, alfalfa and pine needles.

The daily need of the human body for carotene is 5-10,000 IU (5 mg), i.e. equal to the amount contained in 20, 50, 100 g of red carrots, 100-300 g of red tomatoes, 25-100 g of sorrel, 20-70 g of parsley leaves, 40-130 g of spinach, 35-100 g of green onion, 20 g of red pepper, young nettle, 25 g of frozen fruits of sea buckthorn, mountain ash, 40 g of dried rosehips, 100 g of apricot, etc. Spinach carotene has twice the biological activity of carrot carotene, asparagus carotene activity is 20% of vitamin A. 1 mg Vitamin A corresponds to 3300 IU.

As a therapeutic agent, carotene is prescribed for various diseases of the eyes, liver, atherosclerosis, hypertension, thyrotoxicosis, and infectious diseases. Carotene and retinol are necessary for pregnant women and nursing mothers for normal nutrition and fetal growth.

The raw materials for the industrial production of carotene are high- carotene varieties of carrots and pumpkins. Carotene is prescribed in undiluted form and in the form of ointments, emulsions (5-10-25-50%). A solution in oil of a mixture of carotenes isolated from natural sources - carotoline - an oil extract of carotenoids from the hips of rose hips, contains tocopherols, unsaturated fatty acids, etc. (1 ml of solution contains 2 mg of carotene). It is used externally in the treatment of trophic ulcers, eczema, atrophic changes in the mucous membranes, some types of erythroderma (psoriatic, desquamative).

Carotene in food and some other plants:

Carotene in food and some other plants

Chlorophyll-carotene paste obtained from pine needles is used to treat burns, sluggishly healing wounds, ulcers, colpitis, vulvovaginitis and cervical erosion in the form of dressings, tampons, vaginal douching.

Каротин, или провитамин А

Каротин, или провитамин А, — желтый пигмент, находящийся в растительных про­дуктах. Он в три раза слабее витамина А, нестоек, разрушается под действием кислорода воздуха, солнечного света и высокой температуры. Каротин и витамин А депо­нируются в организме. Накопленное избы­точное количество этих витаминов может сохраняться более года, поэтому целесооб­разно максимальное употребление расте­ний, содержащих каротин, в летне-осенний период. Количество каротина в растениях прямо зависит от степени их облиственности и содержания в листьях хлорофилла. Растения с более интенсивной зеленой ок­раской, имеющие большую листовую по­верхность, богаче хлорофиллом. В листьях растений с желтыми, красными, оранжевы­ми плодами и корнеплодами имеется боль­шое количество каротина.

Каротин зеленых растений активнее ка­ротина желтых и оранжевых овощей и пло­дов. Высокое содержание каротина отмече­но в корнеплодах моркови красно-оранже­вой, красной, плодах томатов красных, об­лепихи, в персиках, перце красном, шипов­нике, тыкве (мякоть), облепиховом и паль­мовом масле, зелени — петрушки, шпината, салата, сельдерея, щавеля кислого, цикория, мяты перечной, одуванчика, люцерны и хвое сосны.

Суточная потребность организма чело­века в каротине составляет 5—10 000 МЕ (5 мг), т.е. равна количеству, содержащему­ся в 20, 50, 100 г красной моркови, 100— 300 г красных помидоров, 25—100 г щавеля, 20— 70 г листьев петрушки, 40—130 г шпи­ната, 35—100 г зеленого лука, 20 г красного перца, молодой крапивы, 25 г мороженых плодов облепихи, рябины обыкновенной, 40 г сухих плодов шиповника, 100 г абрико­са и др. Каротин шпината облада­ет вдвое большей биологической активнос­тью, чем каротин моркови, активность ка­ротина спаржи составляет 20 % активности витамина А. 1 мг витамина А соответствует 3300 МЕ.

Как лечебное средство каротин назнача­ют при различных заболеваниях глаз, пече­ни, атеросклерозе, гипертонии, тиреотокси­козе, инфекционных болезнях. Каротин и ретинол необходимы беременным женщинам и кормящим матерям для нормального пита­ния и роста плода.

Сырьем для промышленного получения каротина служат высококаротинные сорта моркови и тыквы. Каротин назначают в неразведенном виде и в виде мазей, эмульсий (5—10—25—50 %). Раствор в масле смеси ка­ротинов, выделенных из природных источников — каротолин — экстракт каротиноидов масляный из мякоти плодов шиповника, в нем находятся токоферолы, ненасы­щенные жирные кислоты и др. (1 мл раст­вора содержит 2 мг каротина). Его приме­няют наружно при лечении трофических язв, экзем, атрофических изменений сли­зистых оболочек, некоторых видов эритродермии (псориатических, десквамативных).

Каротин в пищевых и некоторых других растениях:

Каротин в пищевых и некоторых других растениях

Хлорофилл-каротиновая паста, получаемая из хвои сосны, применяется для лече­ния ожогов, вяло заживающих ран, язв, кольпитов, вульвовагинитов и эрозий шей­ки матки в виде повязок, тампонов, влага­лищных спринцеваний.