This page has been robot translated, sorry for typos if any. Original content here.

Attention! The information is for reference only!
Before taking, be sure to consult a doctor!
SITE ONLY DIRECTORY. NOT A PHARMACY! We do not sell medicines! None!

Description of the medicine: Iodine (Iodum)

IODUM (Iodum).

Obtained from the seaweed ash and oil drilling water. Gray-black plates with metallic luster or intergrowths of a characteristic odor crystal. Volatile at ordinary temperature; when heated, sublimes to form violet vapors. Very slightly soluble in water (1: 5000), soluble in 10 parts of 95% alcohol, soluble in aqueous solutions of iodides (potassium and sodium). Incompatible with essential oils, ammonia solutions, white sedimentary mercury (an explosive mixture forms).

There are 4 groups of iodine preparations: 1) containing elemental iodine (alcohol iodine solution, Lugol's solution); 2) inorganic iodides (potassium and sodium iodide); 3) organic substances that split off elementary iodine (iodoform, iodinol, etc.); 4) iodine-containing organic substances in the molecule of which iodine is firmly bound (radiopaque substances).

Preparations containing iodine have various properties. Elemental iodine has an antimicrobial effect; its solutions are widely used for treating wounds, preparing the surgical field, etc. when applied to the skin and mucous membranes, they are irritating and may cause reflex changes in the body.

Absorbed, iodine actively affects the metabolism, enhances the processes of dissimilation. Its effect on thyroid function is especially pronounced, since it is involved in the synthesis of thyroxine. The daily requirement of the body for iodine is 200 - 220 mg. With iodine deficiency, there is a violation of the synthesis of thyroxine and inhibition of thyroid function; the introduction of iodine enhances in these cases the synthesis of thyroxine.

Preparations of iodine (see. Potassium iodide) block the accumulation of radioactive iodine in the thyroid gland and contribute to its removal from the body.

Small doses of iodine (Mikroyod tablets) have an inhibitory effect on the formation of thyroid-stimulating hormone in the anterior pituitary gland. This property is used in the treatment of patients with hyperthyroidism [Microiod tablets with phenobarbital are excluded from the range of drugs. Calciodine (sayodin) is also excluded.].

It has also been established that iodine affects lipid and protein metabolism. When using iodine preparations in patients with atherosclerosis, there is a tendency to lower blood cholesterol and an increase in the lecithin-cholesterol coefficient, there is also a slight decrease in the content of lipoproteins. Under the influence of iodine preparations, lipoproteinase and fibrinolytic blood activity increases, blood coagulation decreases slightly.

The reflex increase in mucus secretion by the glands of the respiratory tract and the proteolytic effect explains the use of iodine preparations as expectorant and mucolytic agents.

Iodine is released from the body mainly by the kidneys, partly by the gastrointestinal tract, sweat and mammary glands.

Внимание! Информация носит справочный характер!
Перед приёмом обязательно проконсультируйтесь с доктором!
САЙТ ТОЛЬКО СПРАВОЧНИК. НЕ АПТЕКА! Мы не продаем медикаменты! Никакие!

Описание лекарства: Йод (Iodum)

ЙОД (Iodum).

Получают из золы морских водорослей и буровых нефтяных вод. Сероваточерные с металлическим блескам пластинки или сростки кристаллов характерного запаха. Летуч при обыкновенной температуре; при нагревании возгоняется, образуя фиолетовые пары. Очень мало растворим в воде (1:5000), растворим в 10 частях 95 % спирта, растворим в водных растворах йодидов (калия и натрия). Несовместим с эфирными маслами, растворами аммиака, белой осадочной ртутью (образуется взрывчатая смесь).

Различают 4 группы препаратов йода: 1) содержащие элементарный йод (раствор йода спиртовой, раствор Люголя); 2) неорганические йодиды (калия и натрия йодид); 3) органические вещества, отщепляющие элементарный йод (йодоформ, йодинол и др.); 4) йодсодержащие органические вещества, в молекуле которых йод прочно связан (рентгеноконтрастные вещества).

Препараты, содержащие йод, обладают различными свойствами. Элементарный йод оказывает противомикробное действие, его растворы широко применяют для обработки ран, подготовки операционного поля и т. п.; при нанесении на кожу и слизистые оболочки они оказывают раздражающее действие и могут вызвать рефлекторные изменения в деятельности организма.

Всасываясь, йод активно влияет на обмен веществ, усиливает процессы диссимиляции. Особенно выражено его влияние на функцию щитовидной железы, так как он участвует в синтезе тироксина. Суточная потребность организма в йоде составляет 200 - 220 мг. При недостаточности йода происходят нарушение синтеза тироксина и угнетение функции щитовидной железы; введение йода усиливает в этих случаях синтез тироксина.

Препараты йода (см. Калия йодид) блокируют накопление радиоактивного йода в щитовидной железе и способствуют его выведению из организма.

Малые дозы йода (таблетки "Микройод") оказывают тормозящее влияние на образование тиреотропного гормона в передней доле гипофиза. Это свойство используют при лечении больных с гиперфункцией щитовидной железы [Таблетки "Микройод с фенобарбиталом" исключены, из номенклатуры лекарственных средств. Исключен также препарат кальцийодин (сайодин).].

Установлено также, что йод влияет на липидный и белковый обмен. При применении препаратов йода у больных атеросклерозом наблюдается тенденция к снижению холестерина в крови и повышению лецитин-холестеринового коэффициента, наблюдается также некоторое уменьшение содержания липопротеидов. Под влиянием препаратов йода повышается липопротеиназная и фибринолитическая активность крови, несколько уменьшается свертываемость крови.

Рефлекторным повышением секреции слизи железами дыхательных путей и протеолитическим действием объясняется применение препаратов йода в качестве отхаркивающих и муколитических средств.

Выделяется йод из организма главным образом почками, частично желудочнокишечным трактом, потовыми и молочными железами.