This page has been robot translated, sorry for typos if any. Original content here.

What is the fifth little pocket in jeans

Как япоявился пятый маленький карман в джинсах

Jeans - pants made of thick cotton fabric with riveted seams at the pockets. For the first time made in 1853, We pour Strauss as working clothes for farmers.

Initially, jeans were sewn from hemp canvas of English or American production, significantly cheaper due to the decline of the sailing fleet. It is through this material that jeans have won fame for exceptionally durable clothing. Later, hemp was supplanted by cotton, and by the beginning of the “denim revolution” in world fashion (1960s), hemp fabric was no longer widely used in their production.

Find out what purpose served a small "fifth" pocket on jeans.

Such a pocket appeared on Levi's first jeans 501 XX in 1873. There are several versions for which it was coined. According to one of them, the pocket was used to store watches on it in a chain - then it was somewhat larger than it is now, so the watch fit into it freely. By the way, in the Levi's catalog it still goes by the name “watch pocket”.

Another theory is that it was created for the convenience of the workers - they put nails in their pockets, and the miners kept small nuggets in it.

There is a third version, according to which this part was designed to store Zippo lighters. Since most of the cowboys used them, then the size of their pockets fit this standard.

It would seem, why sew on jeans even a small pocket, if there are already four, a lighter or flash drive, in the end, they can shelter. The advantages of the "fifth" pocket for us better say the advertising video company Levi's - the main character, he helps to get into the bedroom of the beauty.

Для чего пятый маленький карман в джинсах

Как япоявился пятый маленький карман в джинсах

Джинсы — брюки из плотной хлопчатобумажной ткани с проклёпанными стыками швов на карманах. Впервые изготовлены в 1853 году Ливаем Страуссом в качестве рабочей одежды для фермеров.

Первоначально джинсы шили из конопляной парусины английского или американского производства, значительно подешевевшей ввиду упадка парусного флота. Именно благодаря этому материалу джинсы завоевали славу исключительно прочной одежды. В дальнейшем конопля была вытеснена хлопком, и к началу «джинсовой революции» в мировой моде (1960-е годы) конопляная ткань уже массово не применялась в их производстве.

Выясняем, какой цели служил маленький «пятый» карман на джинсах.

Появился такой карман на первых джинсах Levi's 501 XX в 1873 году. Существует несколько версий, для чего он был придуман. По одной из них, карман использовался для хранения в нем часов на цепочке — тогда он был несколько больше, чем сейчас, поэтому часы в него свободно помещались. Кстати, в каталоге Levi's он до сих пор проходит под названием «watch pocket».

Другая теория гласит, что он был создан для удобства рабочих — в карман они складывали гвозди, а золотоискатели хранили в нем небольшие самородки.

Существует и третья версия, согласно которой эта деталь была придумана для хранения зажигалок Zippo. Поскольку большинство ковбоев пользовались ими, то и размер кармана подогнали под этот стандарт.

Казалось бы, зачем пришивать на джинсы еще и маленький карман, если там и так уже есть четыре — зажигалку или флешку, в конце концов, могут приютить и они. О преимуществах «пятого» кармана за нас лучше скажет рекламный видеоролик компании Levi's — главному герою он помогает пробраться в спальню красотки.