This page has been robot translated, sorry for typos if any. Original content here.

§5 How the electric meter is arranged

Usually for residents, the meter is presented in the form of a “black box” through which the wiring goes to the apartment. This “box” can be considered by some method known to him the amount of electricity that has passed through it, for which we sometimes get paid. I think that if you are a metrologist (a person who is professionally engaged in various measuring instruments), then you do not need to spend time reading this article, you already know everything, but if you are an ordinary person, read it, you may learn something new .

How, or what, makes that aluminum disk spin in the counter. Maybe there’s a small motor that drives your spent kilowatts? Could it just spin like that on its own? Well, dear reader, I am bitterly informing you that we will have to plunge briefly into the jungle of physics and electricity.

The principle of operation of the counter

Let's take a look at the drawing. The moving part of the counter consists of an aluminum disk 1, mounted on the axis 2. To calm the vibrations of the moving part, a permanent magnet 4 is used. The torque of the disk is generated by electromagnets 3 and 4. Electromagnet 3 has a current winding connected in series with the measured load, and through it a current passes, creating a magnetic flux (for simplicity, let’s imagine that this is some field that appears when a current passes through a conductor). The magnetic flux passes through the disk twice, closing through the details of the magnetic circuit 4 and forming two fluxes in the gap. There is such a rule, called the rule of the “left hand.” If you place your palm so that the lines of force of the magnetic field enter it, and your extended fingers indicate the direction of the current, then the set thumb will indicate the direction of the force acting on the conductor.

Left hand rule

The horror, while I read this rule, almost got tired. If you do not understand anything, then in general this means the following: current flows along the counter coil, magnetic flux appears, and as a result, we have the force that will turn the counter disk in a certain direction. This rule is used by some bad people trying to trick the meter by changing the direction of the current flowing. The rule of the "left hand" is triggered and here, the direction of the force acting on the disk changes.

Recently, new generation electric energy meters began to appear - microprocessor-based. Their main difference is not so much the principle of obtaining data (current and voltage transformers remain transformers), but the processing mechanism, access to the received data. These counters do not have a disk that is spinning, in them analog-to-digital converters (ADCs) and a microprocessor (MP) select the current and voltage to obtain the final result displayed on the counter display.

Schlemburger and Alpha Counters

Microprocessor electricity meters (Schlemburger companies on the left and ABB on the right).

  • Accounting according to multi-tariff mode (i.e., the meter considers the price differently during peak hours, night and half-peak hours);
  • Many options for access to the counter (via modem, current loop, RS485 \ 232, etc.);
  • A large number of additional parameters displayed by counters (within hundreds) - peaks, load schedules, tariff calculations, average values, etc .;
  • The accuracy class of such counters is higher (i.e. better) by an order of magnitude compared with induction 0.2, 0.5 versus 2.0 induction. True, for this in the accuracy class there must also be transformers to which such counters are connected.

§5 Как устроен электрический счетчик

Обычно для жильцов счетчик представляется в виде “черного ящика” через который проходит проводка, идущая в квартиру. Этот “ящик” каким-то, ему известным способом может считать количество электроэнергии, прошедшей через него, за которую у нас еще иногда и платят. Я думаю, что если Вы метролог (человек, который профессионально занимается различными измерительными приборами), то Вам не надо тратить время на прочтение этой статьи, Вы и так все уже знаете, но если Вы обычный человек – почитайте, может узнаете что-то новое.

Как же, или что же, заставляет крутиться тот алюминиевый диск в счетчике. Может там стоит маленький моторчик, который подгоняет Ваши потраченные киловатты? Может он крутиться просто так, сам по себе? Ну что же уважаемый читатель, с горечью сообщаю Вам, что нам придется погрузиться ненадолго в дебри физики и электричества.

Принцип работы счетчика

 

Давайте взглянем на рисунок. Подвижная часть счетчика состоит из алюминиевого диска 1, посаженного на ось 2. Для успокоения колебаний подвижной части служит постоянный магнит 4. Вращающий момент диска образуется при помощи электромагнитов 3 и 4. Электромагнит 3 имеет токовою обмотку, включаемую последовательно с измеряемой нагрузкой, и по ней проходит ток, создающий магнитный поток (для простоты представим, что это некоторое поле, которое появляется при прохождении тока через проводник). Магнитный поток проходит через диск дважды, замыкаясь через детали магнитопровода 4 и образуя в зазоре два потока. Есть такое правило, называется правилом "левой руки”. Если расположить ладонь так, чтобы силовые линии магнитного поля входили в нее, а вытянутые пальцы указывали направление тока, то отставленный большой палец укажет направление силы, действующей на проводник.

Правило левой руки

Ужас, пока дочитал это правило, чуть не утомился. Если Вы ничего не поняли, то в общем это значит следующее: по катушке счетчика идет ток, появляется магнитный поток и как результат - мы имеем силу, которая будет крутить диск счетчика в определенном направлении. Этим правилом пользуются некоторые нехорошие люди, пытающиеся обмануть счетчик, меняя направления идущего тока. Правило "левой руки" срабатывает и тут, меняется направление силы, действующей на диск.

в последнее время стали появляться счетчики электрической энергии нового поколения – микропроцессорные. Их основное отличие – это не столько принцип получения данных (трансформаторы тока и напряжения остаются трансформаторами), а механизм обработки, доступа к полученных данных. В этих счетчиках отсутствует диск, который крутиться, в них аналого-цифровые преобразователи (АЦП) и микропроцессор (МП) делают выборку тока и напряжения для получения конечного результата, отображаемого на дисплее счетчика.

Счетчики Шлембурже и Альфа

Микропроцессорные счетчики электроэнергии (фирм Шлембурже слева и АВВ справа).

  • Учет по многотарифному режиму (т.е. счетчик считает по разным цена в часы пик, ночные и полупиковые часы);
  • Множество вариантов доступа к счетчику (через модем, токовую петлю, RS485\232 и т.д.);
  • Большое количество дополнительных параметров отображаемых счетчиками (в пределах сотни) – пики, графики нагрузок, расчеты по тарифам, средние величины и т.п.;
  • Класс точности у таких счетчиков выше (т.е. лучше) на порядок по сравнению с индукционными 0.2, 0.5 – против 2.0 индукционных. Правда, для этого в классе точности должны быть и трансформаторы, к которым подключаются такие счетчики.