This page has been robot translated, sorry for typos if any. Original content here.

Phillips screwdriver is not an easy story

Крестовая отвертка

Screwdriver - a manual bench tool designed to screw and unscrew fasteners with threads, most often screws and screws, on the head of which there is a slot (groove). Usually it is a metal rod with a tip and a handle (plastic or wooden).

A Phillips screwdriver is an indispensable attribute of any tool kit of your father or any workshop. But the history of its invention in the 1930s was not immediately accepted by the community.

The first appearance of classic screws for screwdrivers with a “flat” tip dates back to about the 16th century, and they existed almost unchanged until the beginning of the 20th century. By this time, slotted screws were already causing a lot of complaints, but were out of competition because of their cheapness. The disadvantages of the "classic" screws were especially pronounced during mass assembly, in particular in the automotive industry. Firstly, the sting was not centered, because of this, mechanical screwdrivers often slipped away, leaving scratches on the varnished body parts. Secondly, when tightening the screws and screws often “pulled”, turning the head or damaging the fasteners. It was these limitations that the American inventor John Thompson was going to overcome, in 1933, patenting a screwdriver with a cross-shaped sting and a screw with the corresponding head. However, an attempt to sell the invention to hardware manufacturers was unsuccessful. In 1934, Thompson met the engineer Henry Phillips and told him the essence of his invention. Phillips liked the idea, he bought the rights to Thompson's patent and organized the company Phillips Screw Company (it still exists). In 1936, he improved the technology and developed a method for mass production of screws. The cross screws automatically centered the screwdriver, and also did not allow “pulling” - the sting of the tool simply slipped.

However, Phillips everywhere waited for failures. Finally, he managed to interest Eugene Clark, president of American Screw Company, the largest manufacturer of hardware in the United States. Although the company’s engineers objected, Clark was so captivated by the idea that he threatened to “fire anyone who says it’s impossible to do.” The threat took effect, and the company, having invested in the organization of production of half a million dollars, began to produce screws under the "cross". In 1937, GM first used these screws in the production of Cadillac models. The results were so brilliant that by 1940 all American automakers had switched to using cross screws, and metalware manufacturers lined up in dozens of queues to buy a license. During World War II, manufacturers of military equipment, such as tanks and aircraft, also switched to the use of these screws.

Since then, many different screws have been invented - both for polyhedrons and for stars of various shapes. But, despite this, Phillips cross screws and screws (in English sources they are named after the inventor - Phillips) are still the standard, and a Phillips screwdriver is the basis of any tool kit.

wiki Design

The simplest screwdriver is usually a rod with a tip, which when inserted into the slot, the other end of the rod is equipped with a wooden, plastic or rubber handle. The material of the handle and its shape are selected based on considerations of increasing adhesion to the hand.

The diameter of the handle is usually in the range of 10 to 40 mm. Since the relationship between the diameter of the handle and the torque delivered to the part is direct, usually the larger the diameter, the larger the size of the parts for which the screwdriver is designed. Therefore, screwdrivers designed for small parts are equipped with thin handles to prevent tearing of a slot or thread or tearing of a part. Some screwdrivers have a hole in the handle that allows you to increase the torque when using the lever threaded into this hole, or is used to secure the safety cord.

The tip of the screwdriver wears out due to the action of significant mechanical stresses during operation. To increase the life of the tip, it is made from special wear-resistant and durable alloys, for example, from chromium-vanadium-molybdenum steels.

Крестовая отвертка

wiki Types of tips

Depending on the type of slot on the part head, screwdrivers with various types of tips are used.

Standard - Widespread.

  • Straight slot (slotted) is the simplest and historically first type of slot.
  • Phillips - Cross-shaped, self-pushing. At the moment, it is outdated, but continues to be widely used in instrumentation, as it is a de facto standard and takes up little space in the head.
  • Pozidriv is an advanced version of the Phillips slot, a non-self-pushing. Due to the large depth of the slot, it is used only where the screws are forced to have large heads: in furniture production and construction. However, it is in these industries that a large torque is needed, which is fundamentally impossible for Phillips.
  • Hexagonal slot - allows you to get a lot of torque.
  • Torx (star-shaped six-beam) - allows you to get great torque, used in the manufacture of household appliances, mechanical engineering.

Special - If special requirements are imposed on the screw, such as beauty, protection against twisting or a huge tightening force in a compact head, special slots are used.

  • Tri-Wing (three-blade) - used in the aerospace industry and in the manufacture of electronic devices.
  • Torq-Set (asymmetric cruciform) - used only in the aerospace industry.
  • One-way - not intended for twisting.
  • Two-pin (spanner) - used in elevators and other places where beauty and vandal protection are required at the same time.
  • Slotted with a slot, similar to a spanner, is used in electrical appliances, power supplies, where amateurish intervention is undesirable.
  • Torx with a pin (Torx Tamper Resistant) is a six-pointed star with a hole in the middle where the pin enters in the middle of the six-pointed screw recess.

Via www.popmech.ru

Крестовая отвертка - нелегкая история её изобретения

Крестовая отвертка

Отвёртка — ручной слесарный инструмент, предназначенный для завинчивания и отвинчивания крепёжных изделий с резьбой, чаще всего винтов и шурупов, на головке которых имеется шлиц (паз). Обычно представляет собой металлический стержень с наконечником и рукояткой (пластмассовой или деревянной).

Крестовая отвертка — непременный атрибут любого набора инструментов вашего отца или любой мастерской. Но история изобретения ее в 1930-е была принята сообществом далеко не сразу.

Первое появление классических винтов под отвертки с «плоским» жалом датируется примерно XVI веком, в почти неизменном виде они существовали до начала XX века. К этому времени винты с прорезью уже вызывали множество нареканий, но были вне конкуренции из-за своей дешевизны. Недостатки «классических» винтов особенно ярко проявлялись при массовой сборке, в частности, в автомобильной промышленности. Во-первых, жало не центрировалось, из-за этого механические шуруповерты часто соскальзывали, оставляя царапины на лакированных кузовных деталях. Во-вторых, при закручивании винты и шурупы часто «перетягивали», сворачивая головку или повреждая крепежные детали. Именно эти ограничения и собрался преодолеть американский изобретатель Джон Томпсон, в 1933 году запатентовав отвертку с крестообразным жалом и винт с соответствующей головкой. Однако попытка продать изобретение производителям метизов не увенчалась успехом. В 1934 году Томпсон познакомился с инженером Генри Филлипсом и изложил ему суть своего изобретения. Филлипсу идея понравилась, он выкупил права на патент Томпсона и организовал компанию Phillips Screw Company (она существует до сих пор). В 1936 году он усовершенствовал технологию и разработал способ массового производства винтов. Крестовые винты автоматически центрировали шуруповерт, а также не допускали «перетягивания» — жало инструмента просто проскальзывало.

Однако и Филлипса везде поджидали отказы. Наконец ему удалось заинтересовать Юджина Кларка, президента American Screw Company, крупнейшего производителя метизов в США. Хотя инженеры компании возражали, Кларка так захватила идея, что он пригрозил «уволить каждого, кто скажет, что это невозможно осуществить». Угроза возымела действие, и компания, вложив в организацию производства полмиллиона долларов, начала выпуск винтов под «крест». В 1937 году GM впервые использовал эти винты в производстве моделей Cadillac. Результаты были столь блестящими, что уже к 1940 году все американские автопроизводители перешли на использование крестовых винтов, а производители метизов десятками выстраивались в очередь на покупку лицензии. Во время Второй мировой войны на использование этих винтов перешли и производители военной техники — танков и самолетов.

С тех пор было придумано немало различных винтов — и под многогранники, и под звездочки различной формы. Но, несмотря на это, крестовые винты и шурупы (в англоязычных источниках они называются по имени изобретателя — Phillips) по-прежнему остаются стандартом, а крестовая отвертка является основой любого набора инструментов.

wiki Конструкция

Простейшая отвёртка представляет собой обычно стержень с наконечником, который при работе вставляют в шлиц, другой конец стержня снабжён деревянной, пластмассовой или резиновой рукояткой. Материал рукоятки и её форму выбирают исходя из соображений повышения сцепляемости с рукой.

Диаметр рукоятки находится обычно в пределах от 10 до 40 мм. Поскольку зависимость между диаметром рукоятки и крутящим моментом, выдаваемым на деталь, прямая, то обычно диаметр тем больше, чем больше размер деталей, под шлиц которых рассчитана отвёртка. Поэтому отвёртки, предназначенные для мелких деталей, снабжаются тонкими рукоятками во избежание срыва шлица или резьбы или разрыва детали. Некоторые отвёртки имеют в рукоятке отверстие, которое позволяет усилить вращающий момент при использовании рычага, продеваемого в это отверстие, или используется для крепления страховочного шнура.

Наконечник отвёртки изнашивается из-за действия значительных механических напряжений в процессе работы. Для увеличения срока службы наконечника его изготавливают из специальных износостойких и прочных сплавов, например, из хром-ванадиевых -молибденовых сталей.

Крестовая отвертка

wiki Виды наконечников

В зависимости от типа шлица на головке детали, используются отвёртки с различными типами наконечников.

Стандартные - Получили повсеместное распространение.

  • Прямой шлиц (шлицевой) — самый простой и исторически первый вид шлица.
  • Phillips — крестообразный самовыталкивающийся. На данный момент устарел, но продолжает широко применяться в приборостроении, так как является стандартом де-факто и занимает мало места в головке.
  • Pozidriv — усовершенствованная версия шлица Phillips, несамовыталкивающийся. Из-за большой глубины шлица применяется только там, где винты вынуждены иметь большие головки: в мебельном производстве и строительстве. Впрочем, именно в этих отраслях нужен большой крутящий момент, принципиально невозможный для Phillips.
  • Шестигранный шлиц — позволяет получить большой крутящий момент.
  • Torx (звёздообразный шестилучевой) — позволяет получить большой крутящий момент, применяется в производстве бытовой техники, машиностроении.

Специальные - Если к винту предъявляются специальные требования, такие как красота, защита от выкручивания или огромное усилие затяжки в компактной головке, применяются специальные шлицы.

  • Tri-Wing (трёхлопастной) — используется в авиакосмической промышленности и в производстве электронных устройств.
  • Torq-Set (асимметричный крестообразный) — применяется только в авиакосмической промышленности.
  • One-way — не предусмотрен для выкручивания.
  • Двухштырьковый (спаннер) — применяется в лифтах и других местах, где требуются одновременно красота и вандалозащита.
  • Шлицевая с прорезью-аналогично спаннеру, применяется в электроприборах, блоках питания, где нежелательно дилетантское вмешательство.
  • Torx со штырьком (Torx Tamper Resistant) — звездообразная шестилучевая с отверстием посередине, куда входит штырек посередине шестилучевого углубления винта.

Via www.popmech.ru