This page has been robot translated, sorry for typos if any. Original content here.

Language Tree: A Linguistic Scheme

Дерево языков

There are several thousand languages in the world. The most famous directories include only modern (i.e. living and recently extinct) languages. According to the Ethnologist there are 6910 , and according to the Lingvosphere Registry ( English ) - 4994 . Most of them are united in families, some languages ​​are considered isolated (that is, they represent single-language families) or remain unclassified.

Did you know that all the languages ​​in which humankind uses today can be divided into several groups according to their origin? Illustrator Minna Sandberg offers an informative infographic showing how different languages ​​are related to each other and what place each of them occupies in the World.

Language tree

The family of languages is considered to be a genetic linguistic association of approximately the same level of depth as Indo-European languages, that is, which disintegrated about 6-7 thousand years ago. Some families, traditionally so named, turn out to be deeper associations (for example, Austronesian languages, Cushitic languages). Below they are called super families .

There are about 420 language families, more than 100 isolates and more than 100 unclassified languages. Families are often combined into units of a higher level - macro families (phylum, English phylum), but now the existence of most of them continues to be only a scientific hypothesis that needs further confirmation. Only theories about the existence of the Nostratic and Afro-Asiatic macro families have received a reliable justification.

The most convenient way of ordering such a large number of families is not genetic, but geographical — across continents or continents, although the boundaries of language families, of course, do not quite correspond to physical boundaries.

Genetic diversity is not the same for different regions.

  1. Eurasia : a total of 21 families, 4 isolates and 12 unclassified languages.
  2. Africa and Southwest Asia : a total of 28 families, 10 isolates and 10 unclassified languages.
  3. Oceania : "Papuan" and Australian languages. Only 100 families and 32 isolated languages.
  4. North America (including Mesoamerica): 42 families in total, 28 isolates and 6 unclassified languages.
  5. South America : according to the latest information, 55 families stand out, 43 isolated and 77 unclassified languages.
Language tree

The larger the “list”, the more people speak the appropriate language. English, as expected, in the champions. However, for many it will be a surprise that almost as many people speak Punjabi in the world as in German, and Bengali speaks more than French and even Portuguese.

Language tree

European languages ​​are divided into three main branches - Slavic, Romance and Germanic. At the same time, English and other languages ​​of Britain - first of all, Welsh (Wales) and Gaelic (Scotland) each other are the seventh water on the jelly. Slovak and Slovenian are very distant relatives, but Latvian and Lithuanian are much closer to Russian than to Estonian.

Language tree

On the infographics, the German roots of the English language are clearly visible.

Language tree

Unlike other Scandinavian languages ​​- Swedish and Norwegian - Finnish belongs to the group of the Ural languages ​​together with Estonian and Udmurt. And Hungarian is a close relative of the languages ​​of the peoples of the Khanty and Mansi.

Language tree

This powerful, spreading linguistic branch is an Indian group of Indo-European languages. All of them are active and almost all are used in the territory of modern India. Can you imagine how difficult it is for the inhabitants of this country?

Via boredpanda.com & wiki

Дерево языков: схема, составленная лингвистами

Дерево языков

В мире насчитывается несколько тысяч языков. Наиболее известные справочники включают только современные (т. е. живые и недавно вымершие) языки. Согласно Этнологу таковых 6910, а по Реестру Лингвосферы (англ.) — 4994. Большинство из них объединяются в семьи, некоторые языки считаются изолированными (т. е. представляют одноязыковые семьи) или остаются неклассифицированными.

Знаете ли вы, что все языки, на которых сегодня использует человечество, можно разделить на несколько групп по их происхождению? Иллюстратор Минна Сандберг предлагает информативную инфографику, показывающую, как различные языки связаны друг с другом, и какое место в Мире занимает каждый из них.

Дерево языков

Семьёй языков считается генетическое языковое объединение примерно такого же уровня глубины, как индоевропейские языки, то есть распавшееся примерно 6—7 тыс. лет назад. Некоторые семьи, традиционно так именуемые, на поверку оказываются более глубокими объединениями (например, австронезийские языки, кушитские языки). Ниже они именуются надсемьями.

Всего насчитывается около 420 языковых семей, более 100 изолятов и более 100 неклассифицированных языков. Семьи нередко объединяются в единицы более высокого уровня — макросемьи (филы, англ. phylum), однако в настоящее время существование большинства из них продолжает оставаться лишь научной гипотезой, требующей дальнейшего подтверждения. Надёжное обоснование получили лишь теории о существовании ностратической и афразийской макросемей.

Наиболее удобным способом упорядочивания такого большого числа семей является не генетический, а географический — по материкам или континентам, хотя границы языковых семей, конечно, не вполне соответствуют физическим границам.

Генетическое разнообразие не одинаково у разных регионов.

  1. Евразия: всего 21 семья, 4 изолята и 12 неклассифицированных языков.
  2. Африка и Юго-западная Азия: всего 28 семей, 10 изолятов и 10 неклассифицированных языков.
  3. Океания: «папуасские» и австралийские языки. Всего 100 семей и 32 изолированных языка.
  4. Северная Америка (в том числе Мезоамерика): всего 42 семьи, 28 изолятов и 6 неклассифицированных языков.
  5. Южная Америка: по последним сведениям выделяется 55 семей, 43 изолированных и 77 неклассифицированных языков.

Дерево языков

Чем больше "лист", тем больше людей говорит на соответствующем языке. Английский, как и следовало ожидать, в чемпионах. Однако для многих станет сюрпризом тот факт, что на пенджаби в мире говорит почти столько же людей, сколько и на немецком, а на бенгали - больше, чем на французском и даже португальском.

Дерево языков

Европейские языки делятся на три основные ветви - славянскую, романскую и германскую. При этом английский и другие языки Британии - в первую очередь, валлийский (Уэльс) и гэльский (Шотландия) друг другу приходятся седьмой водой на киселе. Словакский и словенский - весьма дальняя родня, а вот латышский с литовским гораздо ближе к русскому, чем к эстонскому.

Дерево языков

На инфографике наглядно видны немецкие корни английского языка.

Дерево языков

В отличие от других скандинавских языков - шведского и норвежского, - финнский принадлежит к группе уральских языков вместе с эстонским и удмуртским. А венгерский - близкая родня языков народов ханты и манси.

Дерево языков

Эта мощная, раскидистая языковая ветвь - индийская группа индоевропейских языков. Все они действующие и практически все употребляются на территории современной Индии. Представляете, как непросто приходится жителям этой страны?

Via boredpanda.com & wiki