This page has been robot translated, sorry for typos if any. Original content here.

Attention! Information is for reference only!
Before taking, be sure to consult a doctor!
SITE ONLY DIRECTORY. NOT A PHARMACY! We do not sell medicines! None!

Medication Description: Folic Acid (Acidum folicum)

FOLIC ACID (Acidum folicum). [The name "folic acid" (from folium - leaf) is due to the fact that it was originally isolated from spinach leaves.].

N- [4 - [(2-Amino-1, 4-dihydro-4-oxo-6-pteridyl) methyl] amino] benzoyl L (+) - glutamic acid.

Synonyms: Vitamin B, Pteroylglutamic Acid, Cytofol, Folacid, Folacin, Folamin, Folcidin, Foldine, Folic Acid, Folicil, Folsan, Folvit, Millafol, Piofolin, etc.

Folic acid belongs to the group of vitamins B. It is found in fresh vegetables (beans, spinach, tomatoes, etc.), as well as in the liver and kidneys of animals. In humans, the intestinal microflora is formed.

For medical purposes, get synthetically. Synthetic drug is a yellow or yellow-orange crystalline powder. Practically insoluble in water and alcohol; easily soluble in caustic alkaline solutions. Hygroscopic. It decomposes in the light.

In the body, folic acid is reduced to tetrahydrofolic acid, which is a coenzyme involved in various metabolic processes. It is necessary for the normal formation of blood cells, including the processes of maturation of megaloblasts and the formation of normoblasts.

The lack of folic acid inhibits the transition of the megaloblastic phase of blood formation to the normoblastic one.

Together with vitamin B 12 stimulates erythropoiesis, is also involved in the synthesis of amino acids (methionine, serine, etc.), nucleic acids, purines and pyrimidines, in the metabolism of choline.

Used to stimulate erythropoiesis with macrocytic anemia (megaloblastic anemia in pregnant women, etc.), as well as with sprue. In the treatment of aplastic anemia, the drug is ineffective. When sprue folic acid reduces or eliminates the clinical manifestations of the disease, normalizes blood formation (in this disease, cyanocobalamin and ascorbic acid, liver drugs, hemotherapy are also prescribed at the same time). Folic acid is also used for anemias and leukopenias caused by medicinal substances and ionizing radiation, for anemias resulting from resection of the stomach and intestines, and for alimentary macrocytic anemias of newborns. Due to its beneficial effect on intestinal function, it is recommended for the treatment of chronic gastroenteritis and intestinal tuberculosis.

For pernicious anemia, folic acid should be prescribed only with vitamin B 12. Although folic acid can slightly improve blood formation, it does not prevent the development of neurological complications (funicular myelosis, etc.).

For the prevention of folic deficiency associated with an unbalanced or inadequate diet, folic acid is administered orally at 20-50 mg daily. During pregnancy, take 400 mcg per day, while breastfeeding - 300 mcg.

With the purpose of treatment prescribed for adults to 0.005 g (5 mg) per day, children - in smaller doses, depending on age. Duration of a course of treatment is 20 - 30 days.

Внимание! Информация носит справочный характер!
Перед приёмом обязательно проконсультируйтесь с доктором!
САЙТ ТОЛЬКО СПРАВОЧНИК. НЕ АПТЕКА! Мы не продаем медикаменты! Никакие!

Описание лекарства: Фолиевая кислота (Acidum folicum)

ФОЛИЕВАЯ КИСЛОТА (Acidum folicum). [Название "фолиевая кислота" (от folium - лист) связано с тем что первоначально она была выделена из листьев шпината.].

N-[4-[(2-Амино-1, 4-дигидро-4-оксо-6-птеридил)метил]амино]бензоилL(+)-глутаминовая кислота.

Синонимы: Витамин В , Птероилглутаминовая кислота, Cytofol, Folacid, Folacin, Folamin, Folcidin, Foldine, Folic Acid, Folicil, Folsan, Folvit, Millafol, Piofolin и др.

Фолиевая кислота входит в группу витаминов В. Она содержится в свежих овощах (бобы, шпинат, томаты и др.), а также в печени и почках животных. В организме человека образуется микрофлорой кишечника.

Для медицинских целей получают синтетическим путем. Синтетический препарат представляет собой желтый или желто-оранжевый кристаллический порошок. Практически нерастворим в воде и спирте; легко растворим в растворах едких щелочей. Гигроскопичен. Разлагается на свету.

В организме фолиевая кислота восстанавливается до тетрагидрофолиевой кислоты, являющейся коферментом, участвующим в разных метаболических процессах. Она необходима для нормального образования клеток крови, включая процессы созревания мегалобластов и образования нормобластов.

Недостаток фолиевой кислоты тормозит переход мегалобластической фазы кроветворения в нормобластическую.

Вместе с витамином В 12 стимулирует эритропоэз, участвует также в синтезе аминокислот (метионина, серина и др.), нуклеиновых кислот, пуринов и пиримидинов, в обмене холина.

Применяют для стимулирования эритропоэза при макроцитарных анемиях (мегалобластические анемии у беременных и др.), а также при спру. В лечении апластической анемии препарат малоэффективен. При спру фолиевая кислота уменьшает или устраняет клинические проявления болезни, нормализует кроветворение (при этом заболевании одновременно назначают цианокобаламин и аскорбиновую кислоту, препараты печени, гемотерапию). Фолиевую кислоту применяют также при анемиях и лейкопениях, вызванных лекарственными веществами и ионизирующей радиацией, при анемиях, возникающих вследствие резекции желудка и кишечника, при алиментарных макроцитарных анемиях новорожденных. В связи с благоприятным влиянием на функцию кишечника ее рекомендуют для лечения хронических гастроэнтеритов и туберкулеза кишечника.

При пернициозной анемии фолиевую кислоту следует назначать только вместе с витамином В 12 . Хотя фолиевая кислота может несколько улучшить кроветворение, она не предупреждает развития неврологических осложнений (фуникулярного миелоза и др.).

Для профилактики фолиевой недостаточности, связанной с несбалансированным или неудовлетворительным питанием, назначают фолиевую кислоту внутрь по 20 - 50 мкг ежедневно. В период беременности принимают по 400 мкг в день, при кормлении грудью - по 300 мкг.

С лечебной целью назначают взрослым по 0,005 г (5 мг) в сутки, детям - в меньших дозах в зависимости от возраста. Продолжительность курса лечения 20 - 30 дней.