This page has been robot translated, sorry for typos if any. Original content here.

Attention! Information is for reference only!
Before taking, be sure to consult a doctor!
SITE ONLY DIRECTORY. NOT A PHARMACY! We do not sell medicines! None!

Medication Description: Calcitonin (Calcitonin)

Calcitonin (Calcitonin).

A hypocalcemic hormone produced by parafollicular light thyroid cells and similar cells of the thymus and parathyroid glands of mammals, animals and humans.

By chemical nature, calcitonin is a polypeptide consisting of 32 amino acid residues; molecular weight 3600 - 4000.

Currently, 8 types of calcitonin are known, of which calcitonin of salmon, pig and man are of medical importance. Developed synthetic methods for producing calcitonin.

The activity of the drug is expressed in units of action (ED) or international units (IU) and is determined by biological or radio-immunological method. In determining the biological method for 1 IU taken the amount of the hormone, causing in rats (under certain conditions of experience) a decrease in blood calcium by 10%. 1 IU corresponds to 0.2 µg of pure peptide (synthetic salmon calcitonin).

Abroad, natural and synthetic calcitonin preparations are available under the names: Calcimar, Calcitar, Calcitonin, Caldcalcin, Calirsan, Calsynar, Cibacalcin, Elcatonin, Miacalcic, Miacalcin, Salcatonin, Thyrocalcitonin, etc.

In our country, an injection dosage form of calcitonin from the thyroid gland of pigs called <Calcitrin> has been developed.

Calcitonin is constantly present in the blood. Its concentration is increased by eating foods rich in calcium salts.

The physiological role of calcitonin is determined by participation in the regulation of calcium and phosphate metabolism in the body; its action is carried out with the participation of parathyroid hormone and activating the form of vitamin D (see Ergocalciferol).

Calcitonin significantly reduces the release of calcium from the bones in such conditions that are associated with a sharply increased rate of resorption and bone formation, for example, with Paget's disease, malignant osteolysis and some forms of osteoporosis, characterized by a high level of mineral metabolism. The drug inhibits the activity of osteoclasts and stimulates the formation and activity of osteoblasts; inhibits osteolysis, reducing elevated calcium levels in serum. In addition, it increases the excretion of calcium, phosphorus and sodium in the urine by reducing their reabsorption in the renal tubules. However, serum calcium concentration does not fall below normal values.

Calcitonin also reduces gastric secretion and exocrine secretion of the pancreas, without affecting the mobility of the gastrointestinal tract. Clinical studies show that the drug has an analgesic effect.

Внимание! Информация носит справочный характер!
Перед приёмом обязательно проконсультируйтесь с доктором!
САЙТ ТОЛЬКО СПРАВОЧНИК. НЕ АПТЕКА! Мы не продаем медикаменты! Никакие!

Описание лекарства: Кальцитонин (Calcitonin)

КАЛЬЦИТОНИН (Calcitonin).

Гормон гипокальциемического действия, вырабатываемый парафолликулярными светлыми клетками щитовидной железы и аналогичными клетками вилочковой и паращитовидных желез млекопитающих, животных и человека.

По химической природе кальцитонин является полипептидом, состоящим из 32 аминокислотных остатков; молекулярная масса 3600 - 4000.

В настоящее время известны 8 типов кальцитонина, из которых медицинское значение имеют кальцитонин лосося, свиньи и человека. Разработаны синтетические методы получения кальцитонина.

Активность препарата выражается в единицах действия (ЕД) или международных единицах (МЕ) и определяется биологическим либо радиоиммунологическим методом. При определении биологическим методом за 1 ЕД принимают количество гормона, вызывающее у крыс (в определенных условиях опыта) снижение содержания кальция в крови на 10 %. 1 МЕ соответствует 0,2 мкг чистого пептида (синтетического кальцитонина лосося).

За рубежом природные и синтетические препараты кальцитонина выпускаются под названиями: Calcimar, Calcitar, Calcitonin, Caldcalcin, Calirsan, Calsynar, Cibacalcin, Elcatonin, Miacalcic, Miacalcin, Salcatonin, Thyrocalcitonin и др.

В нашей стране разработана инъекционная лекарственная форма кальцитонина из щитовидной железы свиней под названием < Кальцитрин >.

Кальцитонин постоянно присутствует в крови. Его концентрация повышается при приеме пищи, богатой солями кальция.

Физиологическая роль кальцитонина определяется участием в регуляции обмена кальция и фосфатов в организме; его действие осуществляется при участии паратгормона и активировании формы витамина D (см. Эргокальциферол).

Кальцитонин заметно снижает выход кальция из костей при таких состояниях, которые связаны с резко повышенной скоростью резорбции и образования костной ткани, например при болезни Педжета, злокачественном остеолизе и некоторых формах остеопороза, характеризующихся высоким уровнем минерального обмена. Препарат подавляет активность остеокластов и стимулирует образование и активность остеобластов; угнетает остеолиз, снижая повышенное содержание кальция в сыворотке крови. Кроме того, усиливает выделение кальция, фосфора и натрия с мочой за счет снижения их реабсорбции в почечных канальцах. Однако концентрация кальция в сыворотке не опускается ниже значений нормы.

Кальцитонин снижает также желудочную секрецию и экзокринную секрецию поджелудочной железы, не влияя на подвижность желудочнокишечного тракта. Клинические исследования показывают, что препарат оказывает аналгетическое действие.