This page has been robot translated, sorry for typos if any. Original content here.

How to choose the right watermelon: the tricks that the farmer told me

How to choose a watermelon

Watermelon ordinary (Latin Citrullus lanatus) is an annual herbaceous plant, a species of the genus Watermelon (Citrullus) of the family Pumpkin (Cucurbitaceae). Melon culture. Fruit - squash, spherical, oval, flattened or cylindrical; Color of the bark from white and yellow to dark green with a pattern in the form of a grid, stripes, spots; Flesh pink, red, crimson, less often - white and yellow. Tykvina morphologically (in structure) is similar to a berry.

Watermelon ... Everyone loves these huge emerald-pink berries. Sometimes it seems to us that it's very difficult to choose a good specimen and this is only possible, for example, to our grandfather-gardener. But in fact, everything is not so difficult, because the maturity of this striped fetus can be determined without having a trained look and without peeling. We have collected signs that farmers usually determine that the watermelon inside is juicy and tasty.

Chemical composition

The fruit pulp of watermelon contains from 5.5 to 13% of digestible sugars (glucose, fructose and sucrose). At the time of maturation, glucose and fructose prevail, sucrose accumulates during the storage of watermelon. The pulp contains pectins - 0.68%, proteins - 0.7%; Calcium - 14 mg /%, magnesium - 224 mg /%, sodium - 16 mg /%, potassium - 64 mg /%, phosphorus - 7 mg /%, iron in organic form - 1 mg /%; Vitamins - thiamine, riboflavin, niacin, folic acid, carotene - 0.1-0.7 mg /%, ascorbic acid - 0.7-20 mg /%, alkaline substances. In 100 grams of the edible part of the fruit contains 38 kilocalories. Watermelon seeds contain up to 25% fatty oil. Oil of watermelon seeds contains linoleic, linolenic and palmitic acids, by physical and chemical properties it is similar to almond oil and can replace it, in taste - to olive oil.

Pharmacological properties

As a medicinal raw material, fruits of ripe watermelon (pulp, crust) and seeds are used. Watermelon has a strong diuretic, choleretic, anti-inflammatory, antipyretic, laxative and fortifying properties. Normalizes metabolic processes, enhances intestinal peristalsis.

On an earth spot

Как правильно выбрать арбуз

The yellow (otherwise earthy) spot is the place that the watermelon was lying on the ground when it rested. In a mature fetus this spot should be brownish-yellow or even orange-yellow, but not white.

According to the "bee spiderweb"

Как правильно выбрать арбуз

These not very beautiful brown spots on the watermelon indicate that the bees often touched the fruit's ovary during pollination. The more often pollination took place, the sweeter the watermelon.

By sex

Как правильно выбрать арбуз

Among gardeners, the division of the watermelon fruit into "boys" and "girls" is common. "Boys" have a more elongated shape, their taste is somewhat watery. And the "girls" are more round and very sweet.

By weight and volume

Как правильно выбрать арбуз

It is best not to choose the biggest, but not the smallest watermelon. Optimal - medium. And it should be remembered that a good watermelon is always heavy enough for its size.

By tail

Как правильно выбрать арбуз

The dried tail always indicates that the watermelon has reached the required degree of maturity. And if the tail is green and fresh, the fruit is not yet ripe.

Via fifteenspatulas.com & thekitchn.com

On this topic:

Как правильно выбрать арбуз: трюки, которые мне поведал фермер

Как правильно выбрать арбуз

Арбуз обыкновенный (лат. Citrullus lanatus) — однолетнее травянистое растение, вид рода Арбуз (Citrullus) семейства Тыквенные (Cucurbitaceae). Бахчевая культура. Плод — тыквина, шаровидной, овальной, уплощённой или цилиндрической формы; окраска коры от белой и жёлтой до тёмно-зелёной с рисунком в виде сетки, полос, пятен; мякоть розовая, красная, малиновая, реже — белая и жёлтая. Тыквина морфологически (по строению) схожа с ягодой.

Арбузы... Все любят эти огромные изумрудно-розовые ягоды. Иногда нам кажется, что выбрать хороший экземпляр очень трудно и это под силу только, например, нашему деду-огороднику. Но на самом деле все не так сложно, ведь зрелость этого полосатого плода можно определить, не обладая наметанным взглядом и не снимая кожуры. Мы собрали признаки, по которым фермеры обычно определяют, что внутри арбуз сочный и вкусный.

Химический состав

Плодовая мякоть арбуза содержит от 5,5 до 13 % легкоусваиваемых сахаров (глюкоза, фруктоза и сахароза). К моменту созревания преобладают глюкоза и фруктоза, сахароза накапливается в процессе хранения арбуза. В мякоти содержатся пектины — 0,68 %, белки — 0,7 %; кальций — 14 мг/%, магний — 224 мг/%, натрий — 16 мг/%, калий — 64 мг/%, фосфор — 7 мг/%, железо в органической форме — 1 мг/%; витамины — тиамин, рибофлавин, ниацин, фолиевая кислота, каротин — 0,1—0,7 мг/%, аскорбиновая кислота — 0,7—20 мг/%, щелочные вещества. В 100 граммах съедобной части плода содержится 38 килокалорий. Арбузные семена содержат до 25 % жирного масла. Масло семян арбуза содержит линолевую, линоленовую и пальмитиновую кислоты, по физико-химическим свойствам похоже на миндальное масло и может заменять его, по вкусовым — на оливковое.

Фармакологические свойства

В качестве лекарственного сырья используется плоды зрелого арбуза (мякоть, корка) и семена. Арбуз обладает сильным мочегонным, желчегонным, противовоспалительным, жаропонижающим, слабительным и общеукрепляющим свойствами. Нормализует процессы обмена веществ, усиливает перистальтику кишечника.

По земляному пятну

Как правильно выбрать арбуз

Желтое (иначе земляное) пятно — то место, которым арбуз лежал на земле, когда поспевал. У зрелого плода это пятно должно быть буровато-желтым или даже оранжево-желтым, но не белым.

По «пчелиной паутинке»

Как правильно выбрать арбуз

Эти не очень красивые коричневые пятна на арбузе говорят о том, что пчелы часто задевали завязь плода во время опыления. Чем чаще происходило опыление, тем слаще арбуз.

По половому признаку

Как правильно выбрать арбуз

Среди садоводов распространено разделение плодов арбуза на «мальчиков» и «девочек». «Мальчики» имеют более вытянутую форму, их вкус несколько водянист. А «девочки» более круглые и очень сладкие.

По весу и объему

Как правильно выбрать арбуз

Лучше всего выбирать не самый большой, но и не маленький арбуз. Оптимальный — средний. И следует помнить, что хороший арбуз всегда достаточно тяжел для своего размера.

По хвостику

Как правильно выбрать арбуз

Засохший хвостик всегда указывает на то, что арбуз достиг нужной степени зрелости. А если хвостик зеленый и свежий, плод еще не дозрел.

Via fifteenspatulas.com & thekitchn.com

По теме: