This page has been robot translated, sorry for typos if any. Original content here.

This optical illusion from a floor tile can easily make you sick.

Optical illusion of floor tiles

Optical illusion (visual illusion) - an error in visual perception caused by inaccuracy or inadequacy of the processes of unconscious correction of the visual image (lunar illusion, incorrect estimate of the length of segments, angles or color of the depicted object, illusion of movement, the illusion of the absence of an object ”- banner blindness, etc. .), as well as physical causes (“flattened moon”, “broken spoon” in a glass of water). The causes of optical illusions are investigated both when considering the physiology of vision, and in the study of the psychology of visual perception.

In artistic images, deliberate distortion of perspective causes special effects, best known for the works of Maurice Escher (see, for example, his lithographs: Up and Down (1947), Convex and Concave (1955), Belvedere (1958) etc. The creation of optical illusions was often the theme of the works of Salvador Dali (see, for example, his paintings “The Slave Market with the Appearance of the Invisible Bust of Voltaire” (1938), “The Swans Reflected in Elephants” (1937), etc. Some optical illusions have been studied in Gestalt psychology (for example, en: Akiyoshi Kitaoka).

One of the things that gives confidence in life is the feeling of solid ground under your feet. But for some reason, the company responsible for this floor wants to relieve you of this feeling, forcing the brain not to believe what the legs feel.

The entrance to the Ceramic Tile Salon Casa Ceramica in Manchester, England, looks like a funnel or a gravity well!

But in truth, this floor is actually flat and you just see the optical illusion created by the tile.

And it’s easy to see if you can reach the other end of the corridor and look back!

Optical illusion of floor tiles

Illusions often lead to completely incorrect quantitative estimates of real geometrical quantities. It turns out that it is possible to make a mistake by 25% or more if the visual evaluations are not checked with a ruler.

Eye estimations of geometrical real values ​​very much depend on the nature of the background image. This refers to the lengths (Ponzo illusion), areas, curvature radii. It can also be shown that what is said is true with respect to angles, shapes, and so on.

You can even view a short video of how the tiler laid this floor. Of course, it will finally destroy the illusion in your head, but it’s still interesting.

Duncan Cook, director of Casa Ceramica, shared the video on Twitter to show how they created this effect. The tiles were laid with a curved pattern, which can be seen at an alternative angle.

Via twitter.com & deadbees.net & wiki

Эта оптическая иллюзия из напольной плитки может запросто вас укачать

Оптическая иллюзия из напольной плитки

Оптическая иллюзия (зрительная иллюзия) — ошибка в зрительном восприятии, вызванная неточностью или неадекватностью процессов неосознаваемой коррекции зрительного образа (лунная иллюзия, неверная оценка длины отрезков, величины углов или цвета изображённого объекта, иллюзии движения, «иллюзия отсутствия объекта» — баннерная слепота и др.), а также физическими причинами («сплюснутая Луна», «сломанная ложка» в стакане с водой). Причины оптических иллюзий исследуют как при рассмотрении физиологии зрения, так и в рамках изучения психологии зрительного восприятия.

В художественных изображениях намеренное искажение перспективы вызывает особые эффекты, лучше всего известные по работам Мориса Эшера (см., например, его литографии: «Вверх и вниз» (1947), «Выпуклое и вогнутое» (1955), «Бельведер» (1958) и т. д. Создание оптических иллюзий часто было темой работ Сальвадора Дали (см., например, его картины «Невольничий рынок с явлением незримого бюста Вольтера» (1938), «Лебеди, отражающиеся в слонах» (1937) и т. д.). Некоторые оптические иллюзии изучались в рамках гештальтпсихологии (напр.en:Akiyoshi Kitaoka).

Одна из придающих уверенность вещей в жизни — ощущение твердой земли под ногами. Но по какой-то причине компания, ответственная за этот пол, хочет избавить вас от этого чувства, заставляя мозг не верить тому, что чувствуют ноги.

Вход в салон керамической плитки Casa Ceramica в Манчестере, Англия, выглядит как воронка или гравитационный колодец!

Но, по правде говоря, на самом деле этот пол плоский и вы всего лишь видите оптическую иллюзию, создаваемую плиткой.

И в этом легко убедиться, если вы всё же доберётесь до другого конца коридора и посмотрите назад!

Оптическая иллюзия из напольной плитки

Иллюзии часто приводят к совершенно неверным количественным оценкам реальных геометрических величин. Оказывается, что можно ошибиться на 25 % и больше, если глазомерные оценки не проверить линейкой.

Глазомерные оценки геометрических реальных величин очень сильно зависят от характера фона изображения. Это относится к длинам (иллюзия Понцо), площадям, радиусам кривизны. Можно показать также, что сказанное справедливо и в отношении углов, форм и так далее.

Вы можете даже просмотреть короткое видео о том, как плиточник укладывал данный пол. Конечно, это окончательно разрушит иллюзию в вашей голове, но всё равно интересно.

Дункан Кук, директор Casa Ceramica, поделился видео в Твиттере, чтобы показать, как они создали данный эффект. Плитки были уложены изогнутым рисунком, который можно увидеть под альтернативным углом.

Via twitter.com & deadbees.net & wiki