This page has been robot translated, sorry for typos if any. Original content here.

Cube Rubik: interesting facts about the famous puzzle

Факты о Кубике Рубика

The puzzle "Rubik's Cube" ("Magic Cube", "Hungarian Cube" and even simply "Rubik") attracted the attention, as they say, of "all groups of the population" and got the widest distribution. The merits of this wonderful puzzle, in which both schoolchildren and academics began to play with pleasure, finding virtues consistent with the level of learning, education and propensity to research, we already wrote ( see Science and Life, No. 3, 1981, and No. 2, 1982 ) and even cited the methods of solution.

In the 70s of the last century, architect Erno Rubik taught at the Academy of Applied Arts and Crafts in Budapest. There he conceived the idea to design a simple and at the same time fascinating manual for the development of spatial imagination of his students. Rubik made a cube of 27 parts, the components of which could freely rotate, without violating the integrity of the structure. On the first assembly of the resulting puzzle, the author spent about a month. Unusual cube fell in love with his friends and colleagues, and a year later Erno patented his invention.

In 1982, the first official world cup to assemble the Rubik's cube was held in Budapest. He was defeated by a student from Los Angeles Minh Thai, who figured out a puzzle for 22.95 seconds. Later a special term appeared for those who collect a cube for speed - they were called speedcubes. The record of today's speedcubers is 5.55 seconds. In the Soviet Union, Rubik's cube appeared in 1981. According to unofficial data, the license to manufacture and sell the puzzle cost the USSR three million dollars.

Facts about Rubik's Cube

Via ria.ru

Кубик Рубика: интересные факты о знаменитой головоломке

Факты о Кубике Рубика

Головоломка «Кубик Рубика» («Волшебный кубик», «Венгерский кубик» и даже просто «Рубик») привлекла внимание, как говорится, «всех групп населения» и получила широчайшее распространение. О достоинствах этой замечательной головоломки, в которую с удовольствием стали играть и школьники и академики, находя в ней достоинства, сообразные уровню учёности, образования и склонности к исследованиям, мы уже писали (см. «Наука и жизнь» № 3, 1981 г. и № 2, 1982 г.) и даже приводили методы решения.

В 70-х годах прошлого века архитектор Эрнё Рубик преподавал в Академии прикладных искусств и ремесел Будапешта. Там он задумал сконструировать простое и вместе с тем увлекательное пособие для развития пространственного воображения у своих студентов. Рубик смастерил куб из 27 деталей, составные части которого могли свободно вращаться, не нарушая целостность конструкции. На первую сборку получившейся головоломки автор потратил около месяца. Необычный кубик пришелся по душе его друзьям и коллегам, и уже через год Эрнё запатентовал свое изобретение.

В 1982 году в Будапеште прошел первый официальный чемпионат мира по сборке кубика Рубика. На нем победил студент из Лос-Анджелеса Минх Тхай, который разобрался с головоломкой за 22,95 секунды. Позже появился специальный термин для тех, кто собирает кубик на скорость, — их стали называть спидкуберами. Рекорд современных спидкуберов — 5,55 секунды. В Советском Союзе кубик Рубика появился в 1981 году. По неофициальным данным, лицензия на производство и продажу головоломки обошлась СССР в три миллиона долларов.

Факты о Кубике Рубика

Via ria.ru