This page has been robot translated, sorry for typos if any. Original content here.

Platinum

Платина / Platinum (Pt), 78
78
Platinum
Pt
195,084
4f 14 5d 9 6s 1

Platinum is a noble metal of silvery white color. In the Mendeleyev table this chemical element is denoted by the sign Pt.

Platinum is a chemical element of the 10th group (according to the obsolete classification - an auxiliary subgroup of the eighth group), the 6th period of the Periodic System of Chemical Elements of DI Mendeleyev, with atomic number 78; shiny noble metal of silvery-white color.

The name platinum was given by Spanish conquistadors, who in the middle of the 16th century. They first met in South America (in the territory of modern Colombia) with a new metal that looks like silver (plata). The word literally means "small silver", "silver". Explanation of such a scornful name of exclusive refractory platinum, which did not give in to melting, for a long time did not find use and was valued twice lower than silver.

History of platinum

Платина / Platinum (Pt), 78
Antonio de Ulloa

The ancient world already knew metal platinum. During archaeological excavations in Egypt, in the ruins of ancient Thebes, an artwork was found, which the specialists attributed to the 7th c. BC. e. In this relic of the ancient world there was a grain of platinum-rich iridium.

In the early I c. n. e. the washing of gold-bearing sands in Spain and Portugal began to show a significant interest in the useful use of "white lead", or "white gold", as they called platinum. According to the Roman writer Pliny the Elder (author of the 37-volume book "Natural History"), "white lead" was extracted from the gold placers of Valissia (Northwest Spain) and Lusitania (Portugal). Pliny says that the "white lead" was collected during washing with gold to the bottom of the baskets and melted separately.

Long before the conquest of South America by the Spanish and Portuguese conquistadors, platinum was extracted by the cultural indigenous people-the Incas, who not only owned the secret of cleaning and forging this precious metal, but also knew how to skillfully decorate various objects and ornaments from it.

The epoch of the fall of the Roman Empire is marked by the disappearance of jewelers and jewelers from platinum. Many centuries passed, and only in the second half of the XVIII century. platinum and its physico-chemical properties began to interest scientists.

In 1735, the Spanish mathematician Antonio de Ulloa, in Equatorial Columbia, drew attention to the frequent finding together with gold of a metal unknown to him, whose brilliance somewhat resembled the brilliance of silver, but with all other qualities more resembling gold. This outlandish metal interested de Ulloa, and he brought to Spain samples of Colombian platinum.

In the 18th century, when platinum was not yet in industrial use, it was mixed with gold and gold and silver products. The Spanish government learned about this "damage" of precious metals. Fearing the possibility of mass forgery of the gold coin, it decided to destroy all the platinum mined together with gold in the colonial possessions of the kingdom. In 1735, a decree was issued, prescribing the destruction of all the platinum mined in Colombia. This decree acted for several decades. Special officials in the presence of witnesses periodically threw the available platinum stocks into the river.

At the end of the XVIII century. Spanish kings themselves began to "spoil" the gold coin, mixing it with platinum.

Technical use of platinum

Платина / Platinum (Pt), 78
Coin from platinum

In 1752, the director of the Swedish mint, Schaeffer, announced the discovery of a new chemical element, platinum. Satellites of platinum - palladium, iridium, rhodium, ruthenium and osmium - were discovered much later, in the XIX century. The six listed chemical elements, standing in the eighth group of the Mendeleyev periodic system, constitute a group called platinum metals. All these metals have many similar physical and chemical properties and are found in nature mostly in common.

At the dawn of the introduction of platinum into technology, scientists studied it mostly from the same curiosity, but as the study of the properties of platinum began, it quickly began to find wide application, especially in the chemical industry. It turned out that platinum is soluble only in aqua regia, insoluble in acids and constant with incandescence.

Following the appearance of the first samples of chemical utensils made of platinum, it was used to make distillation apparatus for sulfuric acid. From that moment, the growth in the processing of platinum began to increase dramatically, as it began to be used in the production of acid-proof and heat-resistant laboratory chemical equipment, tools and various instruments (crucibles, flasks, boilers, forceps, etc.).

In pyrometry, the exceptional resistance of platinum and its alloys to high temperatures is used.

Valuable, and sometimes irreplaceable properties of platinum and palladium have long been used in catalytic processes. A significant amount of platinum is spent on making a contact for sulfuric acid plants, where it serves as a catalyst in the oxidation of sulfur dioxide gas to sulfuric anhydride. Platinum in the form of a grid serves as a catalyst in the oxidation of ammonia in apparatuses of various systems. Numerous organic syntheses also require the use of a platinum catalyst. Palladium catalyst is used in the production of synthetic ammonia and in the production of certain organic preparations. In the production of synthetic ammonia for Gaber-Rosennol, osmium is also used.

In electrical engineering, platinum metals, as a rule, are used in the form of alloys. Here is not a complete list of parts of electrical devices where platinum alloys are used: burning needles, instruments for electrical measurements, electrodes (cathodes and anti-cathodes for X-ray tubes), wires and bands for resistance of electric furnaces, magneto contacts (cars, internal combustion engines), contact points (telegraphy, telephony), lightning rod tips, etc.

In electrochemistry, platinum is used in the preparation of various electrolytic products. Medicine and dentistry are among the oldest consumers of platinum. We also note the use of platinum for surgery in the form of the tips of devices serving for cauterization, syringes for injection and infusion, and so on.

Платина / Platinum (Pt), 78
Application of platinum

Jewelry art occupies a leading position as a consumer of platinum in the form of alloys. Platinum frames for precious stones give better shine and cleaner water than rims from other noble metals.

Finally, in the form of salts, platinum and its satellites are required for photography, for the manufacture of medicinal preparations (rhodium and ruthenium salts) and for the preparation of paints on porcelain (rhodium, iridium - black paint, palladium - silver).

Platinum is also used in the military share, for example, for making contacts that serve for the production of detonation in the explosion of mines, and so on.

Extraction of platinum

Платина / Platinum (Pt), 78
How do they extract platinum

The first place in world production of platinum belongs to the Ontario area in Canada. Here in 1856, large deposits of copper-nickel ores of Sudbury were discovered, in which platinum is also present along with gold and silver.

Before the First World War, Canadian platinum did not attract attention, and practical interest in it arose only in 1919, when, as a result of the civil war in the Urals, Russian platinum mining fell sharply, and the world market began to feel a great defect in this valuable metal. Since 1919 Sudbury copper-nickel slurry has been subjected to thorough processing with the purpose of extracting platinum group metals, especially since the cost price of associated extraction of platinum and its satellites is very low.

The second place in the world for the extraction of platinum is occupied by Russia. Noticeable quantities of platinum are mined in Colombia. Of other countries producing platinum, you can indicate Ethiopia and Congo. Extracted directly from the bowels of platinum, as well as platinum, obtained from ores, is subjected to special processing or refining. Refining consists of ordinary processes used on a small scale in the practice of analytical laboratories - dissolution, evaporation, filtration, deposition, etc. As a result of these operations, pure platinum and its satellites are obtained separately.

World reserves of platinum and platinum deposits in Ukraine

Платина / Platinum (Pt), 78
Scheme of deposits (1) and ore occurrences (2) of gold and manifestations of platinoids (3) on the territory of Ukraine.

Almost 90% of the world's confirmed reserves of platinum group metals (PGM: platinum, palladium, iridium, rhodium, osmium, ruthenium) is contained in the platinoid deposits of late-magmatic genesis proper. World resources of platinoids in the bowels of more than 30 countries are estimated at 120-140 thousand tons and most of them (75-85 thousand tons) are located in the Bushveld Massif of South Africa. The volume of world production of PGM is about 370 tons, of which platinum is 160 tons, palladium is 180 tons.

The study of the platinoid content of geological complexes in Ukraine has a history of only half a century - beginning with the discovery in 1951 of platinum (0.1-0.2 g / ton) in the hyperbasites of the Obitochka (Western Azov Sea). A few years later, the presence of platinum and palladium was discovered in rocks of several other regions of the Ukrainian shield and in placers of the Dnieper-Donets basin.

Among the perspective geological objects for the discovery of platinum (and PGM) mineralization in Ukraine are various breeds of the Ukrainian Shield, the Carpathians, Volhynia, the Krivoy Rog and the Donetsk basins, the Middle Dnieper and Pobuzhye (see the map).

Via wiki & alto-lab.ru & photoukraine.com

Платина

Платина / Platinum (Pt), 78
78
Платина
195,084
4f145d96s1

Платина — благородный металл серебристо белого цвета. В таблице Менделеева этот химический элемент обозначается знаком Pt.

Платина (исп. Platina) — химический элемент 10-й группы (по устаревшей классификации — побочной подгруппы восьмой группы), 6-го периода периодической системы химических элементов Д. И. Менделеева, с атомным номером 78; блестящий благородный металл серебристо-белого цвета.

Название платине было дано испанскими конкистадорами, которые в середине XVI в. впервые познакомились в Южной Америке (на территории современной Колумбии) с новым металлом, внешне похожим на серебро (исп. plata). Слово буквально означает «маленькое серебро», «серебришко». Объясняется такое пренебрежительное название исключительной тугоплавкостью платины, которая не поддавалась переплавке, долгое время не находила применения и ценилась вдвое ниже, чем серебро.

История платины

Платина / Platinum (Pt), 78
Антонио де-Ульоа

Древний мир уже знал металлическую платину. При археологических раскопках в Египте в руинах древних Фив был найден художественной работы футляр, относимый специалистами к VII в. до н. э. В этой реликвии древнего мира находилось зерно богатой иридием платины.

В начале I в. н. э. промывальщики золотоносных песков в Испании и Португалии стали проявлять заметный интерес к полезному использованию «белого свинца», или «белого золота», как тогда называли платину. По свидетельству римского писателя Плиния Старшего (автора 37-томной книги «Естественная история»), «белый свинец» добывался из золотых россыпей Валиссии (Северо-западная Испания) и Лузитании (Португалия). Плиний рассказывает, что «белый свинец» собирался при промывке вместе с золотом на дно корзин и плавился отдельно.

Задолго до захвата Южной Америки испанскими и португальскими конкистадорами — платина добывалась культурным туземным народом — инками, не только владевшими секретом очистки и ковки этого драгоценного металла, но и умевшими искусно выделывать из него различные предметы и украшения.

Эпоха падения Римской империи знаменуется исчезновением из обихода ювелиров и торговцев драгоценностями из платины. Прошло много столетий, и только во второй половине XVIII в. платиной и ее физико-химическими свойствами начали интересоваться ученые.

В 1735 году испанский математик Антонио де-Ульоа, находясь в Экваториальной Колумбии, обратил внимание на частое нахождение совместно с золотом неизвестного ему металла, блеск которого несколько напоминал блеск серебра, но всеми прочими качествами более походившего на золото. Этот диковинный металл заинтересовал де-Ульоа, и он привез в Испанию образцы колумбийской платины.

В XVIII столетии, когда платина еще не имела промышленного применения, ее подмешивали к золоту и к золотым и серебряным изделиям. Об этой «порче» драгоценных металлов узнало испанское правительство. Опасаясь возможности массовой подделки золотой монеты, оно решило уничтожать всю платину, добываемую совместно с золотом в колониальных владениях королевства. В 1735 году был издан декрет, предписывавший уничтожать всю добывающуюся в Колумбии платину. Этот декрет действовал несколько десятилетий. Специальные чиновники в присутствии свидетелей периодически бросали наличные запасы платины в реку.

В конце XVIII в. испанские короли сами стали «портить» золотую монету, подмешивая к ней платину.

Техническое использование платины

Платина / Platinum (Pt), 78
Монета из платины

В 1752 году директор шведского монетного двора Шеффер объявил об открытии им нового химического элемента — платины. Спутники платины — палладий, иридий, родий, рутений и осмий — были открыты значительно позднее, в XIX веке. Шесть перечисленных химических элементов, стоящих в восьмой группе периодической системы Менделеева, составляют группу, именуемую платиновыми металлами. Все эти металлы обладают многими сходными физическими и химическими свойствами и встречаются в природе большей частью совместно.

На заре внедрения платины в технику ученые занимались ею большей частью из одного любопытства, но по мере углубленного изучения свойств платины она довольно быстро начала находить широкое применение, особенно в химической промышленности. Оказалось, что платина растворима только в царской водке, нерастворима в кислотах и постоянна при накаливании.

Вслед за появлением первых образцов химической посуды, изготовленной из платины, ее начали применять для изготовления перегонных аппаратов для серной кислоты. С этого момента стал резко увеличиваться рост обработки платины, так как ею стали пользоваться в производстве кислотоупорной и жароустойчивой лабораторной химической аппаратуры, инструментов и различных приборов (тиглей, колб, котлов, щипцов и т. д ).

В пирометрии используют исключительную устойчивость платины и ее сплавов к высоким температурам.

Ценные, а порой незаменимые свойства платины и палладия уже давно используются в каталитических процессах. Значительное количество платины расходуется на изготовление контакта для сернокислотных заводов, где она служит катализатором при окислении сернистого газа в серный ангидрид. Платина в виде сетки служит катализатором при окислении аммиака в аппаратах различных систем. Многочисленные органические синтезы также требуют применения платинового катализатора. Палладиевый катализатор применяется в производстве синтетического аммиака и при получении некоторых органических препаратов. В производстве синтетического аммиака по Габеру-Росеннолю применяется также осмий.

В электротехнике платиновые металлы, как правило, применяются в виде сплавов. Вот далеко не полный список деталей электроаппаратов, где используются платиновые сплавы: иглы для выжигания, приборы для электрических измерений, электроды (катоды и антикатоды для рентгеновских трубок), проволоки и ленты для сопротивлений электрических печей, контакты магнето (автомобили, двигатели внутреннего сгорания), контактные точки (телеграфия, телефония), наконечники громоотводов и т. д.

В электрохимии платина применяется при получении различных электролитических продуктов. Медицина и зубоврачевание являются одними из старейших потребителей платины. Отметим также применение платины для хирургии в виде наконечников приборов, служащих для прижигания, шприцев для впрыскивания и вливания и т. п.

Платина / Platinum (Pt), 78
Применение платины

Ювелирное искусство занимает ведущее положение как потребитель платины в виде сплавов. Платиновые оправы для драгоценных камней дают лучший блеск и более чистую воду, чем оправы из других благородных металлов.

Наконец, в виде солей платина и ее спутники требуются для фотографии, для изготовления лекарственных препаратов (соли родия и рутения) и для приготовления красок по фарфору (родий, иридий — черная краска, палладий — серебристая).

Платина используется и в военном доле, например для изготовления контактов, служащих для производства детонации при взрыве мин, и т. п.

Добыча платины

Платина / Platinum (Pt), 78
Как добывают платину

Первое место в мировой добыче платины принадлежит району Онтарио в Канаде. Здесь в 1856 году были открыты крупные месторождения медно-никелевых руд Сюдбери, в которых на ряду с золотом и серебром присутствует и платина.

До первой мировой войны канадская платина не привлекала к себе внимания, и практический интерес к ней возник только в 1919 году, когда вследствие гражданской войны на Урале добыча русской платины сильно упала, и мировой рынок стал ощущать большой недостаток в этом ценном металле. С 1919 года шламы медно-никелевого производства Сюдбери стали подвергать тщательной переработке с целью извлечения металлов платиновой группы, тем более что себестоимость попутной добычи платины и ее спутников очень низка.

Второе место в мире по добыче платины занимает Россия. Заметные количества платины добываются в Колумбии. Из других стран, производящих платину, можно указать Эфиопию и Конго. Добытая непосредственно из недр платина, а также платина, полученная из руд, подвергается специальной обработке или аффинажу. Аффинаж состоит из обычных процессов, применяемых в небольших масштабах в практике аналитических лабораторий — растворения, выпаривания, фильтрования, осаждения и т. д. В результате этих операций получается чистая платина и раздельно ее спутники.

Мировые запасы платины и Месторождения платины в Украине

Платина / Platinum (Pt), 78
Схема расположения месторождений (1) и рудопроявлений (2) золота и проявлений платиноидов (3) на территории Украины.

Почти 90% мировых подтвержденных запасов металлов платиновой группы (МПГ: платина, палладий, иридий, родий, осмий, рутений) заключено в собственно платиноидных пластовых месторождениях позднемагматического генезиса. Мировые ресурсы платиноидов в недрах более 30 стран оцениваются в 120-140 тыс. тонн и большая их часть (75-85 тыс. тонн) находится в Бушвельдском массиве ЮАР. Объем мирового производства МПГ составляет примерно 370 т, из которых платины – 160 т, палладия – 180 т.

Изучение платиноидоносности геологических комплексов Украины имеет всего полувековую историю – начиная с выявления в 1951 году содержания платины (0,1-0,2 г/тонну) в гипербазитах реки Обиточной (Западное Приазовье). Спустя несколько лет присутствие платины и палладия было обнаружено в породах ряда других районов Украинского щита и в россыпях Днепровско-Донецкой впадины.

К числу перспективных геологических объектов на обнаружение платинового (и МПГ) оруденения в Украине относятся различные по составу породы Украинского щита, Карпат, Волыни, Криворожского и Донецкого бассейнов, Средних Приднепровья и Побужья (см. карту-схему).

Via wiki & alto-lab.ru & photoukraine.com