This page has been robot translated, sorry for typos if any. Original content here.

The brain needs many short breaks to master the skill.

Чтобы научится чаще отдыхай

Skill - the ability of activity, formed by repetition and bringing to automatism. Every new mode of action, proceeding initially as some independent, developed and conscious, then as a result of repeated repetitions can already be carried out as an automatically performed component of activity.

Skill is a way of performing an action mastered by the subject, provided by the totality of acquired knowledge and skills. It is formed by exercises and creates the ability to perform actions not only in familiar, but also in changed conditions.

Scientists from the U.S. National Institute of Health have discovered that the human brain needs a few short breaks in order to reinforce the memory of new skills.

“It is generally accepted that we need to“ practice, practice and practice again ”in order to learn something new. But frequent and short breaks are just as important as practice, ”says Leonardo Cohen, one of the authors of the study.

Чтобы научится чаще отдыхай

The experiment was attended by several dozen right-handed volunteers. They were seated at computers and shown several numbers in a row. Then people were asked to dial the numbers with their left hand for 10 seconds and take the same time break. They repeated this cycle 35 times.

All this time, scientists watched the brain activity of the participants. “I noticed that the brain waves of volunteers seemed to change much more during rest than during print sessions ,” says Dr. Marlene Benstrup.

After analyzing the data, the scientists realized that the main brain training took place just during rest - the memory of a new skill, in this case, the character set with the left hand, was strengthened in between prints.

Scientists have suggested that any rest plays a role, regardless of time. But when the volunteers returned the next day and again began typing with their left hand, they did it much more slowly. Long rest did not give results.

“Our results show how important it is to optimize the time and configuration of rest intervals when you learn something new. This can be very important in the rehabilitation of patients after a stroke or when learning to play musical instruments in healthy people, ”the researchers said.

Via knife.media & wiki

Чтобы освоить навык, мозгу нужно много коротких перерывов

Чтобы научится чаще отдыхай

Навык — способность деятельности, сформированная путём повторения и доведения до автоматизма. Всякий новый способ действия, протекая первоначально как некоторое самостоятельное, развёрнутое и сознательное, затем в результате многократных повторений может осуществляться уже в качестве автоматически выполняемого компонента деятельности.

Умение — освоенный субъектом способ выполнения действия, обеспечиваемый совокупностью приобретённых знаний и навыков. Формируется путём упражнений и создаёт возможность выполнения действия не только в привычных, но и в изменившихся условиях.

Ученые из Национального института здоровья США обнаружили, что мозгу человека нужно несколько коротких перерывов для того, чтобы укрепить воспоминания о новых навыках.

«Принято считать, что нам нужно „практиковаться, практиковаться и еще раз практиковаться“, чтобы научиться чему-то новому. Но частый и коротких отдых не менее важен, чем практика», — говорит Леонардо Коэн, один из авторов исследования.

Чтобы научится чаще отдыхай

В эксперименте приняли участие несколько десятков добровольцев-правшей. Их усадили за компьютеры и показывали несколько цифр подряд. Затем людей попросили набирать цифры левой рукой в течение 10 секунд и сделать такой же по времени перерыв. Они повторили этот цикл 35 раз.

Всё это время за мозговой активностью участников наблюдали ученые. «Я заметила, что мозговые волны добровольцев, казалось, менялись гораздо больше во время отдыха, чем во время сеансов печати», — говорит доктор Марлен Бенструп.

Проанализировав данные, ученые поняли, что основное обучение мозга происходило как раз во время отдыха — память о новом навыке, в данном случае о наборе символов левой рукой, укреплялась в перерывах между печатью.

Ученые предположили, что роль играет любой отдых, независимо от времени. Но когда добровольцы вернулись на следующий день и снова стали печатать левой рукой, они делали это гораздо медленнее. Длительный отдых результатов не дал.

«Наши результаты показывают, как важно оптимизировать время и конфигурацию интервалов отдыха, когда осваиваешь что-то новое. Это может быть очень важно при реабилитации пациентов после инсульта или при обучении игре на музыкальных инструментах у здоровых людей», — заявили исследователи.

Via knife.media & wiki