This page has been robot translated, sorry for typos if any. Original content here.

Attention! Information is for reference only!
Before taking, be sure to consult a doctor!
SITE ONLY DIRECTORY. NOT A PHARMACY! We do not sell medicines! None!

Medication Description: Cefoxitin (Cefoxitin)

Cefoxitin (Cefoxitin) *. (7S) -3 - [(Carbamoyloxy) methyl] -7-methoxy-7- (2-thienylacetamido) -3-cephem-4carboxylic acid.

Synonyms: Mefoxin (name of the drug company "MERCK & CO., INC.", Rahway NJ, USА.), Atralxitin, Betacef, Boncefin, Cefoctin, Cenomycin, Mefoxil, Mefoxin, Mefoxitin, Merxin, etc.

Available in sodium salt form.

Refers to the third generation cephalosporins. The chemical structure is close to cefuroxime.

Cefoxitin (mefoxin) is a broad-spectrum antibiotic. Effective against gram-positive and gram-negative microorganisms (aerobic and anaerobic).

Acts on Proteus of all species, Serratia, Escherichia coli, Vasteroides, Klebsiell, resistant to cephalothin. Resistant to b-lactamase. Effective against microorganisms resistant to penicillins, tetracyclines, erythromycin, chloramphenicol (levomycetin), kanamycin, gentamicin, sulfonamides.

Cefoxitin acts bactericidal by inhibiting the synthesis of the bacterial cell membrane.

Used to treat infections caused by microorganisms sensitive to it, including mixed infections. The main indications for cefoxitin use are peritonitis and other infections of the abdominal cavity and pelvic cavity, gynecological infections, septicemia, endocarditis, urinary tract infections, gonorrhea, respiratory infections, infections of the skin, soft tissues, bones and joints. For the treatment of meningitis is not applicable.

Assign intravenously or intramuscularly. A single dose for adults is 1 to 2 g every 8 hours. In severe infections, 3 g are administered every 6 hours (up to 12 g per day). Infants and older children are administered at the rate of 20-40 mg / kg every 6-8 hours, to the newborn - 20–40 mg / kg every 8-12 hours.

Adults and children with reduced kidney function, the drug is prescribed in reduced doses and increase the intervals between injections.

For intravenous injections, cefoxitin is dissolved in sterile water for injection: 1 g of the drug is dissolved first in 2 ml of water, then 10 or 20 ml of water is added (into vials containing 1 or 2 g of the drug) and shaken until completely dissolved. Jet injected solution for 3 to 5 minutes. For drip, dilute the solution in an isotonic (0.9%) solution of sodium chloride or 5% glucose solution.

For intramuscular injections, dissolve 1 g of cefoxitin in 2 ml of sterile water for injection or 0.5 ml of 1% lidocaine solution.

Possible side effects are basically the same as when using other cephalosporins. With intravenous administration, thrombophlebitis may develop. When administered intramuscularly, pain may appear (and therefore it is recommended to use local anesthetic lidocaine for dissolution) and local tissue consolidation is possible.

Cefoxitin is contraindicated in case of hypersensitivity to cephalosporins. It should not be prescribed the drug to pregnant women (the danger of teratogenic effect is not well understood). The drug is excreted in human milk; use it in nursing mothers should be only if there is absolute evidence.

Внимание! Информация носит справочный характер!
Перед приёмом обязательно проконсультируйтесь с доктором!
САЙТ ТОЛЬКО СПРАВОЧНИК. НЕ АПТЕКА! Мы не продаем медикаменты! Никакие!

Описание лекарства: Цефокситин (Cefoxitin)

ЦЕФОКСИТИН (Cefoxitin)*. (7S)-3-[(Карбамоилокси)метил]-7-метокси-7-(2-тиенилацетамидо)-3-цефем-4карбоновая кислота.

Синонимы: Мефоксин (название препарата фирмы "МЕRCK & СО., INC.", Rahway N. J., U.S.А.), Atralxitin, Betacef, Boncefin, Cefoctin, Cenomycin, Mefoxil, Mefoxin, Mefoxitin, Merxin и др.

Выпускается в виде натриевой соли.

Относится к цефалоспоринам третьего поколения. По химической структуре близок к цефуроксиму.

Цефокситин (мефоксин) является антибиотиком широкого спектра действия. Эффективен в отношении грамположительных и грамотрицательных микроорганизмов (аэробных и анаэробных).

Действует на Рrоteus всех видов, Serratia, Еscherichia соli, Васteroidеs, Кlebsiellа, устойчивые к цефалотину. Устойчив к b -лактамазам. Эффективен в отношении микроорганизмов, устойчивых к пенициллинам, тетрациклинам, эритромицину, хлорамфениколу (левомицетину), канамицину, гентамицину, сульфаниламидам.

Цефокситин действует бактерицидно за счет ингибирования синтеза оболочки бактериальной клетки.

Применяют для лечения инфекций, вызванных чувствительными к нему микроорганизмами, в том числе при смешанных инфекциях. Основными показаниями к применению цефокситина являются перитонит и другие инфекции брюшной полости и полости таза, гинекологические инфекции, септицемии, эндокардит, инфекции мочевыводящих путей, гонорея, инфекция дыхательных путей, инфекции кожи, мягких тканей, костей и суставов. Для лечения менингита не применяется.

Назначают внутривенно или внутримышечно . Разовая доза для взрослых составляет 1 - 2 г через каждые 8 ч. При тяжелых инфекциях вводят по 3 г через каждые 6 ч (до 12 г в сутки). Детям грудного и более старшего возраста вводят из расчета 20 - 40 мг/кг каждые 6 -8 ч, новорожденным - 20 40 мг/кг через 8 - 12 ч.

Взрослым и детям со сниженной функцией почек препарат назначают в уменьшенных дозах и увеличивают интервалы между введениями.

Для внутривенных введений цефокситин растворяют в стерильной воде для инъекций: 1 г препарата растворяют сначала в 2 мл воды, затем добавляют 10 или 20 мл воды (во флаконы с содержанием 1 или 2 г препарата) и встряхивают до полного растворения. Струйно вводят раствор в течение 3 5 мин. Для капельного введения разводят раствор в изотоническом (0,9 %) растворе натрия хлорида или 5 % растворе глюкозы.

Для внутримышечных инъекций растворяют 1 г цефокситина в 2 мл стерильной воды для инъекций или 0,5 мл 1 % раствора лидокаина.

Возможные побочные явления в основном такие же, как при применении других цефалоспоринов. При внутривенном введении возможно развитие тромбофлебита. При внутримышечном введении могут появиться боли (в связи с чем рекомендуется применение для растворения местного анестетика лидокаина) и возможно местное уплотнение тканей.

Цефокситин противопоказан при повышенной чувствительности к цефалоспоринам. Не следует назначать препарат беременным (недостаточно изучена опасность тератогенного эффекта) . Препарат выделяется с женским молоком; применять его у кормящих матерей следует только при наличии абсолютных показаний.